Bloghop · DOM · My Stories

The Next Big Thing

Yup, it’s The Next Best Thing. This comes to me via Coreena McBurnie from Books & Other Creative Adventures.
For this, I will be answering the same questions she did about my WiP, then I’m meant to tag five other blogs who will post the same questions about their WiP or new release (I’ll get back to that).

1. What is the working title of your book?
Dark One’s Mistress. I can’t remember when I dropped the ‘the’ off the beginning.
I like to call it DOM. ^_^

2. Where did the idea come from for the book?
Heh. In a roundabout way, via playing Overlord 2 on the PlayStation 3 (I so wish I could find the first version). Yet the story bears no resemblance to the game except where the Dark One has the ability to take people’s souls. And he has minions/servants/whatever, but every Dark Lord needs them.
In a less vague way, it stemmed from one question: What if the bad guy wasn’t all that bad? I’m sure I veered away from that somewhere along the line as there’s a certain uneasy feeling about Lucias. Maybe that’s more the MC’s feelings on him coming through there.

3. What genre does your book fall under?
Fantasy. Definitely fantasy. With a touch of romance. Okay, more than a touch. But fantasy nevertheless.
The real question is, is it adult or new adult? The Main Character is seventeen and, despite a longing for adventure, is a little naive on the big, bad world that’s beyond her village. I blame the government. Wait, I made the government. Hmm … does that mean I blame myself?

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Hmm, I’m tempted to put Hugh Jackman as the MC’s agonist, the Dark One of the title. I think he’d be a perfect Lucias. Although, Johnny Depp is probably closer. I’m sure either could play a jaded and slightly hot mid-twenties guy who looks about ten years older. ^_^
As for the Main Character, I’m thinking Selena Gomez could play a decent Clara.
Now there’s a combination. Is it odd that I waffle over the guy, but with the MC I’m all … her!

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Ugh. I suck at one-sentence synopses. Actually, I suck at synopses in general. Here goes:

Despite the newly-made Lord’s charm, Clara is determined to escape his clutches, whether through force or persuasion, but when she learns that if Lucias dies without an heir and the soulless criminals enslaved in his army will be free to terrorise the land, Clara must choose between regaining her freedom or losing it completely for the good of the kingdom before it’s too late.

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I’m hoping to go the agent or publisher route.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Looking through my posts, I apparently began in August 2011. How am I still writing it over a year later?
Let’s see … that’s when it went from idea to written word; it wasn’t expected so I was still editing Dragon; then my muse was high-jacked by another WiP; I rewrote Golden Dawn; and, finally, I stopped writing DOM at 30,000 words to do an editing run over it.
And I wonder why NaNoWriMo seems impossible to me. ^_^
Now it’s at 62,000 words with two and a half chapters still to go (I’m on the final fight scene right now! Ah!). Then I’ll be editing and on the lookout for some CPs for it while I write Anubis’ Handmaiden.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Uh … I am completely out of the loop with what’s out there. Seriously, I’ve so many books to read already that I rarely set foot in bookstores nowadays or buy many eBooks. Trends are gone by the time I hear about them. Thank goodness I write for me and not the fads or I’d be screwed. ^_^

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?
Apart from the game? Hmm, I’ve a heavy suspicion that this has been influenced by Beauty and the Beast. Just a touch. Maybe it’s the fact she gets imprisoned in the citadel with him. Maybe it’s that she sees him as this horrible monster for a long time, then gets a chance to see the real him.

Get your paws off me, you damn dirty … *ahem*

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

See, I suck at these questions. I write what I want to read, and I want to read the strangest things. I can pinpoint what I (dis)like in someone else’s story, but if it comes to telling someone else what they’d enjoy … I suffer from a terrible lack of confidence in people not liking my work.
In fact, only a handful of CPs have ever read my stories and, despite me chewing off the collective ears of my family about the stories, none of them have ever read a word of them in their current forms.
So what’ll pique a reader’s interest? I have no idea. Would you read a romance story that has the agonist/love interest trying to coax the heroine into his bed yet is denied even a single kiss from her? Read this excerpt if you’ve the time (it’s quite long) and then maybe you tell me.
Okay, so tagging … between limited ‘net time over the last week, getting the car fixed and nursing a sore hand … I never managed to get enough time to find people to tag. -_- In any case, much prefer to have people opt in when it comes to tagging.
So I’m leaving this open. If you want to join in, mention it in the comments and consider yourself tagged. All you gotta do is answer these questions and … er, hopefully do better than me at the tagging. ^_^
6 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. He's not bad, he's just misunderstood.
    Seriously, it makes my head hurt to think about him for too long. Is he bad? Or is he good in some weird misguided way?

    I'll have to leave that up to my future readers. ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

